India qualifies for 2021 Women’s Cricket World Cup!

India do not figure in ICC Women's World Cup 2021 schedule ...

India has qualified for the 50 over Women’s World Cup to be held in 2021. India qualified after finishing in the top 4 of the ICC Women’s Championship.

ICC Today announced that the remaining three series in the ICC Women’s Championship will be cancelled due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic and the points will be shared by the team. The 3 cancelled series are India-Pakistan, South Africa-Australia and Sri Lanka-New Zealand.

The India-Pakistan series was originally scheduled in the sixth round of the competition, between July and November 2019, but despite the best efforts of both the boards, it was unable to take place.

With respect to the India v Pakistan series, ICC concluded that the series could not be played because of a Force Majeure event after the BCCI demonstrated that it was unable to obtain the necessary government clearances to allow India to participate in the bilateral series against Pakistan.

Australia (37 points), England (29), South Africa (25) and now India (23) have qualified by virtue of being the top four. Hosts New Zealand are also qualified. The remaining teams will play a qualifier now for 3 remaining spots.

India’s performance in 2017-20 ICC Women’s Championship

Feb 2018: South Africa 1-2 India
Mar 2018: India 0-3 Australia
Sept 2018: Sri Lanka 1-2 India
Jan 2019: New Zealand 1-2 India
Feb 2019: India 2-1 England
Nov 2019: West Indies 1-2 India
2019: India v Pakistan – Cancelled

India won 5 series and lost only 1.

2021 ICC Women’s World Cup is set to take place in New Zealand in February and March 2020. Eight Teams will play for the trophy next year.

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑