Sudirman Cup 2021: Preview

Sudirman Cup Badminton: India seeded 9th, selection trials in Hyderabad

The Badminton World Mixed Team Championship (also known as Sudirman Cup) will start on 26th September in Vantaa, Finland. Sudirman Cup takes place once every two years and this year’s tournament will be the 17th edition.

Previously 32 teams used to be a part of this tournament but from this year’s edition only 16 teams will participate.

Which teams have qualified?

16 teams are going to take part in 2021 Sudirman Cup. These teams are divided into 4 groups of 4 teams each. 2 teams from each group will progress to QF. India is drawn into group A along with host Finland, China and Thailand.

China is the most successful team in this competition having won it 11 times.

TotalEnergies BWF Sudirman Cup 2021 Draw | 360Badminton

Match Format:

Each match will have 5 ties: Men’s Singles, Women’s Singles, Men’s Doubles, Women’s Doubles and Mixed Doubles.

Team India for Sudirman Cup 2021:

Men – B Sai Praneeth, Kidambi Srikanth, Dhruv Kapila, MR Arjun

Women – Malvika Bansod, Aditi Bhatt, Tanisha Crasto, Rutuparna Panda, Ashwini Ponnappa, N Sikki Reddy

Team India’s Schedule for Group Stage:

Match 1 – Thailand v India – 26th September – 12:30 PM

Match 2 – India v China – 27th September – 12:30 PM

Match 3 – Finland v India – 29th September – 6:30 PM

Where to watch?

Sudirman Cup is LIVE on Disney+Hotstar and Star Sports network.

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑