ICC Super League is here…

The International Cricket Council on Monday (July 27) launched the inaugural edition of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League. The Super League will kick off on July 30 at Southampton with a series between champions England and Ireland.

What is it?

The primary objective of the Super League is to determine qualification for the 2023 ICC Men’s ODI Cricket World Cup. The top 7 teams from Super League will automatically qualify for the 2023 ODI World Cup.

Who is in Super League?

13 teams, including the 12 full ICC Members and Netherlands. These teams will play four home and four away three-match series to complete the Super League.

Here are the teams:
Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, New Zealand, Netherlands, Pakistan South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Zimbabwe

The full schedule for the Super League will be announced by ICC after discussion with various boards.

Here is the qualification pathway for 2023 ICC World Cup which is scheduled to take place in India.

A diagram that explains the qualification structure for the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑