T20 Women’s World Cup: Preview


T20 Women’s World Cup is joining to start on 21st February in Australia. This is the 7th edition of Women’s T20 World Cup. Australia have won the title 4 times, England 1 time and West Indies 1 time. India’s best performance has been a semi-final appearance. Indian Women’s team will be looking for a 1st title in Australia.

Here is Team India for T20 World Cup:

Harmanpreet Kaur(c), Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Harleen Deol, Veda K, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Deepti Sharma, Shikha Pandey, P Vastrakar, Poonam Yadav, Radha Yadav, Arundhati Reddy, Rajeshwari Gaekwad, Richa Ghosh

Indian cricket will also be looking to end a 7-year trophy drought. The last time India won a major title in cricket was in 2013 – Champions trophy.


Here is a look at the schedule and groups of Women’s T20 World Cup:

2020 T20 World Cup will take place between 21st February and 8th March. A total of 10 teams will be participating. India is placed in Group A. Top 2 teams from each group will qualify for Semi-Final.

Group A: Australia, India, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh
Group B: England, South Africa, West Indies, Pakistan, Thailand

Here is Team India’s schedule:

DateMatchVenueTime (IST)
21 FebAustralia v IndiaSydney1:30 PM
24 FebIndia v BangladeshPerth4:30 PM
27 FebIndia v New ZealandMelbourne8:30 AM
29 FebIndia v Sri LankaMelbourne1:30 PM
5 MarSemi-FinalsSydney8:30 AM, 1:30 PM
8 MarFinalMelbourne1:30 PM

Where to watch: Star Sports & Hotstar

Trivia: The final of Women’s T20 World Cup will be played on 8th March – International Women’s Day! The World Cup organizers are looking to break the record for the highest turnout at a women’s sports match. The current record is 90,185. It is held by 1999 FIFA Women’s World Cup Final between USA & China. The Women’s T20 World Cup final has a great shot at breaking this record.

Image result for melbourne cricket ground

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑